ITA Recognizes NWC Men's Tennis Student-Athletes, Teams for Academic Performance

ITA Recognizes NWC Men's Tennis Student-Athletes, Teams for Academic Performance

TEMPE, Ariz. – 29 men’s tennis student-athletes from five Northwest Conference member institutions have been recognized as All-Academic Scholar-Athletes, the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) announced earlier this week. 

Pacific received the most honorees with eight, while Whitman and Whitworth each honored six. Linfield named five to the list, and Lewis & Clark four.

Among those recognized were All-NWC first team honorees Raed Attia of Lewis & Clark, Reyn Miyagawa and Rayden Murata of Pacific, and Dan Foster of Whitman. All-NWC second team honorees include Linfield’s Nathan Saragoza, and Whitman’s Rajul Chikkalingaiah and Alex Hwang.

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must be a varsity letter winner, have a grade point average of at least 3.50 on a 4.00 scale for the current academic year, and have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman through senior year).

Three men’s teams were also named All-Academic teams by the ITA. Lewis & Clark, Pacific, and Whitworth each received cumulative team grade point averages of 3.2 or above in the 2018-19 academic year to earn the recognition.

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale).

To view the complete ITA release, click here.


ITA All-Academic Scholar-Athletes

Brendan Adams, Lewis & Clark

Raed Attia, Lewis & Clark

Ryan Hayes, Lewis & Clark

Will McDermott, Lewis & Clark

Cameron Ventura, Linfield

Trent Prussing, Linfield

Jacob Mangan, Linfield

Nathan Saragoza, Linfield

Thomas Foy, Linfield

Griffin Fraser, Pacific (Ore.)

Quentin Gonzalez, Pacific (Ore.)

Joey Hu, Pacific (Ore.)

Garret Katayama, Pacific (Ore.)

Reyn Miyagawa, Pacific (Ore.)

Rayden Murata, Pacific (Ore.)

Koby Murata, Pacific (Ore.)

Reece Parr, Pacific (Ore.)

Azur Ali, Whitman

Rajul Chikkalingaiah, Whitman

Jack Fleming, Whitman

Daniel Foster, Whitman

Alexander Hwang, Whitman

Nishaant Limaye, Whitman

Benjamin Bethards, Whitworth

Jacob Bethards, Whitworht

Cameron Brewer, Whitworth

Jake Floyd, Whitworth

Nicholas Hughes, Whitworth

Kincaid Norris, Whitworth



ITA All-Academic Teams

Lewis & Clark

Pacific (Ore.)